Thursday, December 5, 2019

Rosanne Cash - Price of the Fire - Various Songs (2008-2011)

Hopefully by now you'll have noticed from my previous Rosanne Cash posts that she's got a lot of non-album material that's very good. So if you like the other stray tracks albums I've posted from her, you should like this one. It's more of the same quality music.

The songs come from bonus tracks, cuts on various artists compilations, duets on other people's albums, and the like. Four of the songs are officially unreleased, and all of those come from concert bootlegs. Happily, the sound is very good for those.

Cash has never been a very prolific songwriter, and usually these stray tracks compilations of hers are filled with covers. That's the case here too. About half of the songs are well-known classics, including versions of tunes from the Beatles, Bob Dylan, and her father Johnny Cash. But, as usual, she makes them all her own.

01 Wildwood Flower (Charlie Haden Family & Rosanne Cash)
02 Price of the Fire (Rosanne Cash)
03 And Your Bird Can Sing (Rosanne Cash)
04 My Love Is like a Red, Red Rose (Rosanne Cash)
05 Satisfied Mind (Rosanne Cash with Neko Case)
06 Sweet Memories (Rosanne Cash with Chris Thile)
07 Ode to Billy Joe (Rosanne Cash)
08 Secret Life of Roses (Rosanne Cash)
09 God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen (Rosanne Cash)
10 Better Days (Rosanne Cash)
11 Got You Covered (Blackie & the Rodeo Kings with Rosanne Cash)
12 Pickin' Time (Rosanne Cash)
13 You Ain't Goin' Nowhere (Rosanne Cash)

I wasn't able to find any really good photos of Cash from 2008 to 2011. But I found a nice one from 2012, so I used that.

No comments:

Post a Comment