Monday, December 23, 2019

Bruce Springsteen - Cover Songs, Volume 17: 2009-2011

The daily Bruce Springsteen cover song series continues. We're all the way up to volume 17, dealing with the years 2009 to 2011.

Springsteen seems to have done an increasing number of duets with other famous musicians over the years. There are an unusually large number of those this time around. That's why I chose to make the cover of him with Billy Joel. They do the first two songs together.

Springsteen didn't tour in 2010 or 2011, yet the last six songs are from those years. That's because they were from surprise appearances at small clubs or special concerts. For instance, the last two songs are from a concert celebrating Sting's sixtieth birthday.

Only three of the 12 songs have been officially released. Unfortunately, some of the rest sound a bit rough, and clearly come from audience bootlegs instead of soundboards. The last two songs are examples of that. But I wouldn't include any song if it didn't meet my sound quality standards.

01 Only the Good Die Young (Billy Joel & Bruce Springsteen)
02 New York State of Mind (Billy Joel & Bruce Springsteen)
03 Ramblin' Gamblin' Man (Bruce Springsteen)
04 Ring of Fire (Bruce Springsteen)
05 [I Don't Want To] Hang Up My Rock and Roll Shoes (Bruce Springsteen)
06 Green Onions (Bruce Springsteen)
07 Beast of Burden (Bruce Springsteen & Alejandro Escovedo)
08 Peg O' My Heart (Dropkick Murphys & Bruce Springsteen)
09 What's Your Name (Bruce Springsteen with Nicky Addeo)
10 C. C. Rider (Bruce Springsteen with Nicky Addeo)
11 Fields of Gold (Bruce Springsteen)
12 Can't Stand Losing You (Bruce Springsteen & Sting)

The cover art photo of Springsteen and Billy Joel was taken during a Rock and Roll Hall of Fame concert in 2009.

No comments:

Post a Comment