Thursday, May 25, 2023

Larkin Poe - Tip O' the Hat, Volume 8 - Various Cover Versions (2021-2023)

It feels like it's been a long time since I've posted any music from Larkin Poe. They've been busy, but I haven't come across anything with really high sound quality. And their acoustic cover versions series "Tip O' the Hat" seemed to have slowly petered out. But I'm glad to say that's no longer the case, with a few new songs in recent weeks, allowing me to finish off this volume. Let's hope they stay inspired to do more.

There's not much else to say. If you've been following this blog for a while, I hope you know this sisterly duo and have listened to other volumes in this series. As usual, they do acoustic versions of famous songs, although they have a few relative obscurities this time, such as "Sally's Song" (from the Nightmare Before Christmas soundtrack) and "O I Long to Feel Your Arms Around Me" by Father John Misty.

Note that I had previously been giving increasingly long titles to the album in this series. The last one was "Yet Additional Even Still More Further Tip O' the Hat." But that grew increasingly unweildy. To be honest, I didn't expect there to be this many volumes, and I hope there will be more to come. So I've resorted to simply "Volume 8" this time. 

"Money" is a relatively simple version, with just Rebecca Lovell on guitar and no Megan Lovell slide guitar solos as usual. That's probably because it's a very rare instance of Megan singing lead vocals. It also probably is from some earlier time, but it only appeared on-line for the first time in 2023, so that's where I've put it chronologically with the others.

Here are the original artists for each song:

01 Hideaway [Instrumental] - Freddie King
02 Sledgehammer - Peter Gabriel
03 Bring It on Home to Me - Sam Cooke
04 Peter Gunn Theme [Instrumental] - Henry Mancini
05 Rockin' in the Free World - Neil Young
06 Sally's Song [Instrumental] - Danny Elfman
07 Total Eclipse of the Heart - Bonnie Tyler
08 Rich Girl - Hall & Oates
09 Start Me Up - Rolling Stones
10 The Joker - Steve Miller Band
11 Wind of Change - Scorpions
12 Money - Pink Floyd
13 O I Long to Feel Your Arms Around Me - Father John Misty
14 Never Been to Spain - Hoyt Axton / Three Dog Night
15 Don't Dream It's Over - Crowded House

And here's the usual song list:

01 Hideaway [Instrumental] (Larkin Poe)
02 Sledgehammer (Larkin Poe) (Larkin Poe)
03 Bring It on Home to Me (Larkin Poe)
04 Peter Gunn Theme [Instrumental] (Larkin Poe)
05 Rockin' in the Free World (Larkin Poe)
06 Sally's Song [Instrumental] (Larkin Poe)
07 Total Eclipse of the Heart (Larkin Poe)
08 Rich Girl (Larkin Poe)
09 Start Me Up (Larkin Poe)
10 The Joker (Larkin Poe)
11 Wind of Change (Larkin Poe)
12 Money (Larkin Poe)
13 O I Long to Feel Your Arms Around Me (Larkin Poe)
14 Never Been to Spain (Larkin Poe & Mark Agnesi)
15 Don't Dream It's Over (Larkin Poe)

This album is 46 minutes long.

The cover appears to be a promo photo from around 2022 or 2023.

No comments:

Post a Comment